A belated birthday gift for my sister in law:

hat 1

I had a little trouble deciding buttons, but ended up with these:

hat 3

It fits like a beanie, which was a little tighter than I had planned, but still looks cute on her!  I cast on 72 stitches in a heavy-worsted-to-bulky yarn, worked a 2×2 rib for almost an inch, then stockinette stitched up the rest.  The button placket was crocheted then sewn on and the buttons added.   It was a fairly quick knit, would have been quicker if I weren’t so busy!

hat 2

Next up on the needles:
Finishing up some WIPs – a baby sweater that I am loving right now, my Ella Rae vest, and a fingering weight stockinette stitch scarf.   July is my month for finishing WIPs, then I am starting the Christmas Countdown schedule I created.  Let’s just say that in the past I have come up with grandiose plans for knitted gifts and the schedule either A) gets beaten out by other gifts or B) I get so impatient with the projects that I don’t do my best work on them or finally C) I start my huge list in November which by then is too late.  The goal with starting early this year is to make sure these gifts get done without stressing me out, and that they look/feel/act nice.   I would show you the list of projects on this blog, but the main people who read this are the people I am knitting for – which would defeat the purpose of wow-ing them at Christmas with lovely handknit items.   Maybe I can keep a countdown of days til Christmas vs. percentage of gifts completed or something…..hmm. 

Enough rambling.  Back to laundry and those WIPs.

