I took a Bridal Couture class at school this summer and made a fully loaded formal dress for class (well, it’s only knee length, but has boning, a waist-stay and was mostly handsewn!). 

satin dress 1

It’s an alteration of Vogue pattern 2963, by Badgley Mischka.  Made from a thick poly satin in eggplant with navy blue velvet accents. 

satin dress pattern photo

I decided against the full length version (as amazing as it is!) because I wanted to have at least a chance of an opportunity to wear this this I spent my summer on! It took a lot of time and got finished right before the final class – the only problem was, after spending tons of time hand sewing in the lining near the zipper, I couldn’t zip it!   The lining keeps getting stuck in the zipper!   I will have to re-sew it in after tucking it back a little.   I plan to add a blue velvet belt with bow to it at some point.

satin dress 2

I was hoping to wear it to a wedding I am going to this weekend, but with the boning/corselette – this thing is super warm to wear!   (I am almost finished with another dress that I will wear instead!).

satin dress 3

I did learn from this dress that I don’t really have the patience to sew at this calibre right now, but think that I might learn to love the slow processes of couture sewing in the future!

