The Eyre Affair, by Jasper Fforde

This book was recommended to me by my boss and I was able to reserve it through the library (I finally got a library card here – life is back to normal).

The description on the back of my version reads,

‘This is the 1985 of Thursday Next, a literary detective without equal, fear, or boyfriend. Thursday is on the trail of the villainous Acheron Hades, who has been kidnapping characters from works of fiction and holding them to ransom.  Jane Eyre herself has been plucked out of the novel of the same name, and Thursday must find a way into the book to repair the damage.’

Though it takes place in a futuristic version of 1985, the book was first published in 2001.  It’s a comedic fantasy involving characters who can travel through time, jump in and out of fictitious works, and has a little something for every reader – action, drama, humor, though not much tragedy!

Though the premise sounds a little bit strange, the book itself is a fun and captivating read.  It’s the first of a series and I will be picking up the following books soon.  After I finish my book club books for January, read the final two non-fiction books I promised myself I’d read in 2010, and finish the other 3 books I picked up at the library the same day as this one…  too much to read, too little time.

 

