Happy New Year all!

I never used to make New Year’s Resolutions.  I guess I always knew I would fail.  Last year, I made some – but thought that calling them goals would be better than resolutions.  This happens to not be true.

Some I accomplished, some I miserably failed at.  But I did appreciate having those goals to work towards.  I decided that though I mostly failed last year, I would make a few new goals for 2011 and try again (always the optimist).

My short list of goals for 2011:

1. Again attempt to knit 20 projects over the course of the year.  2010 got me to 18 (plus 4 WIPs), and I am proud of that!

2. Read 52 books.  That’s a book a week if you are tracking.  I figure I’ve read about 40 books this year, so this goal isn’t actually that crazy for me.   I’ve started a list of what I’d like to read or re-read (list post to come) and plan to write a really short review of each book, posting it here.   There’s a good selection of new books, books I am re-reading and a small section of non-fiction that I am determined to get to.

3. Keep a budget.  Seth and I have always created a budget for ourselves – different formats, different ways to handle money, we’ve tried a lot of ways of organizing our resources. We follow the plan for a month or so – then get lazy about it.  Now that we are in Edinburgh, I’m hoping we can find something that really works and stick to it – we have to be able to afford living here, pay off debt, and figure out how to save money for wherever we move to next.   As well as to finance the travelling we want to do while we are here.  All strong motivators for keeping us on budget and organized.

I think I am going to keep the list to three this year.  I have another list of plans/projects/etc that I am keeping for myself, but these three are really the big ones that I wanted to share here.

I also believe that this post is my 100th since switching to this URL.  Maybe I will host a giveaway of some kind to celebrate this small milestone…  info to come.

What are your goals for 2011?

 

 

