{raveled}

The first of St Patrick’s Day hats I am knitting for my family when they visit Edinburgh over March 17.  I have another skein of yarn destined to be a second version of this hat for my youngest sister, and three other skeins of a different green to become beret/tam style hats for my mom and aunts.  Get ready for posts about green hats, because that’s what I’ll be working on until they get here…

The color is shown better in this second photo, but it’s even more true green in person (love it).   Can you see that I am wearing my 2010 Cardi again today?  That brings the knitted items worn today up to three (mitts not pictured) – so warm.  I used Rowan Pure Wool Aran for this hat – I can get a big 100g skein for £7 and make an entire hat.  It comes in tons of colors and so far doesn’t itch my forehead too bad like most wool does. 

This pattern was easy to remember – one lace pattern row followed by three ‘knit all’ rows.  I will say that the P3tog’s did hurt my hands a little – I am going to really have to be careful to be nice to my hands and wrists if I want knitting to be a lifetime hobby.   I’ll take a little break before knitting up the second one – focus on simple knits or (shock) take a break from knitting for a few days.   

Happy weekending everyone!

