For those of you who know me in person at all, you will know that I am a huge Harry Potter fan (both books and movies).  Therefore, it is only fitting that I include a quick post about the owls from the series and how awesome it would be to have an owl to carry my mail. 

For those who have not read the books, the wizarding world that Rowling creates has a very unique postal system.  Wizards must either have their own post owl, or can visit a post office and pay for an owl to deliver whatever mail they have to send. 

Throughout the series, the owls deliver regular letters, the daily wizarding newspaper, howlers (a nasty sort of letter that is magically read out loud for all to hear), and large packages.   The owls can even seem to find the recipient of the letter no matter where they are – even on a moving train.   For Harry, Hedwig is not only a personal postman, she is a friend.

I think if I added up all the money I’ve spent on stamps throughout my life and all the postage I will continue to pay for in the future, I’d probably have enough to purchase and take care of an owl.  I mean, I would rather have a dog, but could it be trained to deliver my mail?

Here’s another example of a sort of bird delivery service:

Okay, that was really just for fun.  You know your day just got brighter from watching that…

